I’ve always loved exploring maps, particularly those created for fantasy books and RPGs. There’s something special about the visual representation of a fictional world.

For some time, I’ve been working on some general ideas for a world and with the prospect of running a D&D campaign I started to flesh things out. This included developing a world map. I had a lot of fun doing this and drawing the map helped me figure out various aspects of the world that will hopefully help in-game. Things like, nations, continental history, languages, alliances, conflicts, etc.

I’d never done a map completely in Photoshop before, so I took the opportunity to build on some ideas for digital painting techniques that I’d been playing with. Overall, I’m pretty happy with the result and I’m planning on creating maps for the rest of the world. In the meantime, here is the land of Lal’Timaa.

Clicking on the image will load a gallery with which you can better view the map.